Life Update… One Year Later

It’s me again. Probably one of the most inconsistent people on the internet. I know it’s been a while, and I’m not even sure if anyone will read this. But if you do, hi there. I hope you’ve been okay. 🙂 So much has happened since the last time I uploaded. I turned 23 in October. (Isn’t that crazy?) It’s been great. At first I was sad about getting older which is a huge reason I didn’t post my annual birthday post last year. Now, I’m just taking things one day at a time and embracing it because this life is truly too short to waste it being sad over things I think I should have done before now. I’m nowhere near where I would like to be at this point in my life, but I am working every day to get there.

I also applied for a new job at the library a few months ago and I got it! So far I am loving everything about it. I still get stressed from time to time because with a higher position comes more responsibilities, but that’s okay. The projects that I get keep me on my toes, and it is really nice to be able to explore my creativity again.

Writing

As an update on the story idea that I mentioned I was working on, there isn’t one. I hit a plateau sometime around last October. I wish I was one of those people who knows exactly what is going to happen in their story from start to finish, but unfortunately I am not. I honestly haven’t even considered what the outcome of the story would be. Because of this, I took a much needed break from writing, in all forms, but I think I’m ready to revisit it. Maybe as I ease back into the story, I will kind of let the characters live and breathe on their own instead of focusing so much on what is going to happen long term. Then we can go from there. If I have any updates I will be sure to put them here.

Games

I am not a gamer by any means, but I do have a slight obsession with Animal Crossing. Yes, I am fully aware that I am about 2 years too late, but it is such a fun way to pass the time! My island is a mess right now but once I get it to look the way that I want I would love to upload a small island tour here.

That’s me!

I am also very excited about the Gollum game that is set to release sometime this year. I’ve been a huge fan of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit since I was little, so when I heard that there was going to be a game all about Gollum and his story before the events of The Lord of the Rings I was completely sold.

Books

Now on to the fun part. Books! I’ve read more manga than anything to be completely honest. (It counts, right?) One of my absolute favorites that will forever have a special place in my heart is Blue Flag by Kaito. I actually cried after finishing the last volume and I couldn’t bring myself to read anything else for two weeks because of how invested I was in the story. If you have never read Blue Flag, definitely check it out.

In my last post I also mentioned that I would post a review of the Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern, which is something that I still really want to do. Unfortunately, though, I’ve already forgotten so much of what happens in the story so I plan on re-reading the book, and taking notes as I go. There is A LOT that happens, and I want to be able to cover as much as I can.

And…that’s all I have. I know this is a very short update, like always, but I didn’t want to waste too much time rambling. If you made it to this point, thank you. I missed this so much, and I can’t wait to get back into it. Until next time.

-J

Leave a comment